Monday, January 24, 2011

Coker Athletes get academic recognition

Christian Stryker, Sports Information Director, distributed a news release about athletes and academic recognition in the Conference Carolinas. I have a lot of these athletes in class (when I am not on sabbatical) and just thought it would make good copy for the blog. So, here is the entire release:

79 Coker Student-Athletes Named to Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll

by Christian Stryker, Director of Media Relations and Sports Information, Coker College

Read this article on the web at

High Point, N.C. - Coker College is proud to announce that 79 student-athletes have been named to the 2010 Conference Carolinas Fall Presidential Honor Roll. These student-athletes have made a commitment to academic excellence and have achieved a grade point average of 3.2 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) at Coker College.

Coker College and Conference Carolinas continue to emphasize "Academics and Athletics Working Together." The Presidential Honor Roll recognizes student-athletes who have earned a 3.20 grade-point average (up from 3.00 in previous years) on a 4.00 scale for the semester and includes freshman and transfer student athletes (that have participated in either a conference or non-conference sponsored sport).

The Conference Carolinas Presidential Honor Roll is awarded twice a year covering each of the fall and spring academic semesters and is based on meeting the criteria at the end of the previous semester. This fall the number of Coker student-athletes named to the honor roll increased by 23, with just 56 making the cut in the fall of 2009.

Conference Carolinas is a premier NCAA Division II athletics conference made up of 11 schools from North Carolina and South Carolina. These institutions consist of: Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Coker College, Converse College, Erskine College, Lees-McRae College, Limestone College, Mount Olive College, Pfeiffer University, Queens University of Charlotte, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

Matt Ammons
Matt Bowman
Lucas Britt
Brendan Burns
Cody Ellison
Nick Fulco
Andrew Goot
David Walters
Adam Windham

Men's Basketball
Joselle Bracy
Jonathon Gardner
Austin Harper
Eren Moses
Tom Wright

Men's Cross Country
Austin McJunkins
Thaddeus Sulek

Men's Golf
Joshua Clay
Benjamin Conroy
Nolan Dorner
Matthew Kreider
John LaDow
Diego Polo

Men's Soccer
Atticus Lum
Brendan McCarron
Michael Rice
Stephen Scrivens
Tyler Senecal
Tyler Staub
Timmy Strickland
James Sweeney
C J Telford
Damien Vuotto

Men's Tennis
Tycho Lamberigts
Evan Schreiner
Juan Vallejo

Sara Atkinson
Jessica Covington
Adrienne Kennedy
Amber Lewis

Performance Dance Team
Lindsey Allen
Tara Clossman
Shea Flotow
Ashley Hancock
Leslie Hanna
Amber Shannon

Women's Basketball
Maija Castren
Megan Thomas
Joanna Tyndall

Women's Cross Country
Ashlyn Barnwell
Samantha Fletcher
Aliese Gregory
Caitlyn Higgins
Adriana Ochoa

Women's Golf
Alexa Clark

Women's Soccer
Jill Giguere
Mackenzie Hallahan
Morgan Hartline
Sara Kinsey
Stephanie Leitgeb
Jaime McCoy
Melanie McGrath
Emily Morrow
Mandi Warner
Devan Williams

Louise Benton
Lauren Brailsford
Stacy Burr
Ashley Coleman
Becky Dillon
Sydney Greenwalt
Katie McElveen
Jaclin Poole
Jennifer Sanborn
Ashley Thompkins

Women's Tennis
Faith Baxley
Stephanie Medley

Women's Volleyball
Brittany Bass
Katie McElveen
Mindy Morris

Visit for the latest news and info on Cobras Athletics.

No comments:

Post a Comment